Franz Pop Collective

FRANZ POP COLLECTIVE - SLOWDANCE

FRANZ Pop Collective. The name already suggests that we are in for a concentrated load of interdisciplinary artists. Permanent members of the collective are the actress Julia Franz Richter, the musician Clemens Wenger and the director Felix Hafner. In collaboration with video artists, stage designers and choreographers, the Popkollektiv is continuously growing and working on narrative and scenic realizations of the songs in extended, performative contexts. At the center is the unmistakable voice of Julia Franz Richter.

SLOWDANCE is an ellipsis that revolves around our own conditioning. How are our notions of love, relationship and belonging constituted? Through which stories and images are these longings, fears nourished?

SLOWDANCE is the first sign of life of the FRANZ Pop Collective and herald of the concept album "WUMAN ON A SOFA". The single is accompanied by a visual by filmmaker Lisa Truttmann, who translates the song into immersive and associative images.

Julia Franz Richterborn in 1991, studied Comparative Literature at the University of Vienna and later Performing Arts at the University of Art in Graz. After her studies, she was an ensemble member at the Volkstheater in Munich, the Schauspielhaus in Graz and most recently at the Volkstheater in Vienna. Richter is also active in film and television. For example, she has appeared in front of the camera for Marie Kreutzer, Katharina Mückstein, Christian Petzold and Magdalena Lauritsch. For the role of Lena in the feature film "The Diver" she received the Diagonal Acting Award and a nomination for best female lead at the Austrian Film Awards. 

Felix Hafnerborn in 1992, studied acting direction at the Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna and has since worked as a freelance director and actor. He directs at the Volkstheater Vienna, the Landestheater Niederösterreich, the Tiroler Landestheater, steirischer herbst and the Munich Volkstheater (most recently HERKUNFT after Sasa Stanisić). Together with the collective "Institut für Medien, Politik und Theater" (Institute for Media, Politics and Theater), interdisciplinary works between theater and journalism are created (www.institut-theater.at). In 2017, Hafner received the Nestroy Theater Prize as best young male actor for his production of "Der Menschenfeind" at the Vienna Volkstheater. 

Clemens Wengerborn 1982, lives and works in Vienna as a musician and composer for contemporary jazz, pop & electronic music.  He initiated the JazzWerkstatt Wien, has been leading this music collective for 18 years and is the head of the successful Viennese soul band 5/8erl in Ehr'n. Most recently, Wenger released "Physics of Beauty," a collection of 32 pieces, as an interactive digital artwork. Together with Mira Lu Kovacs, Wenger published "The Urge of Night." Wenger composed theater music for the Volkstheater Wien, Münchner Volkstheater, Landestheater Tirol, netzzeit, when the time comes, and many more. Winner of six Amadeus Austrian Music Awards. 


Releases

Digital from 0,00 €

SLOWDANCE

(Digital)
  • 01 Slowdance

All videos

Franz Pop Collective

FRANZ Pop Collective. Der Name lässt schon erahnen, dass da eine geballte Ladung an interdisziplären Künstler:innen auf uns zukommt. Ständige Mitglieder des Kollektivs sind die Schauspielerin Julia Franz Richter, der Musiker Clemens Wenger und der Regisseur Felix Hafner. In Zusammenarbeit mit Videokünstler:innen, Bühnenbildner:innen oder Choreograph:innen wächst das Popkollektiv aber kontinuierlich und arbeitet an erzählerischen und szenischen Umsetzungen der Songs in erweiterten, performativen Kontexten. Im Zentrum steht die unverwechselbare Stimme von Julia Franz Richter.

SLOWDANCE ist eine Ellipse, die um unsere eigene Konditionierung kreist. Wie konstituiert sich unsere Vorstellung von Liebe, Beziehung und Zugehörigkeit? Durch welche Geschichten und Bilder werden diese Sehnsüchte, Ängste genährt?

SLOWDANCE ist das erste Lebenszeichen des FRANZ Pop Collective und Vorbote des Konzept-Albums “WUMAN ON A SOFA”. Die Single wird begleitet durch ein Visual der Filmemacherin Lisa Truttmann, die den Song in immersive und assoziative Bilder übersetzt.

Julia Franz Richter, geboren 1991, studierte Komparatistik an der Universität Wien und später Darstellende Kunst an der Kunstuniversität Graz. Nach ihrem Studium war sie Ensemblemitglied am Volkstheater München, dem Schauspielhaus Graz und zuletzt am Volkstheater Wien. Richter ist auch in Film und Fernsehen tätig. So stand sie beispielsweise für Marie Kreutzer, Katharina Mückstein, Christian Petzold und Magdalena Lauritsch vor der Kamera. Für die Rolle der Lena in dem Kinofilm „Der Taucher“ erhielt sie den Diagonal Schauspielpreis und eine Nominierung für die beste weibliche Hauptrolle beim österreichischen Filmpreis.

Felix Hafner, geboren 1992, studierte Schauspielregie am Wiener Max Reinhardt Seminar und arbeitet seitdem freischaffend als Regisseur und Schauspieler. Er inszeniert am Volkstheater Wien, am Landestheater Niederösterreich, am Tiroler Landestheater, steirischer herbst und am Münchner Volkstheater (zuletzt HERKUNFT nach Sasa Stanisić). Gemeinsam mit dem Kollektiv "Institut für Medien, Politik und Theater" entstehen interdisziplinäre Arbeiten zwischen Theater und Journalismus (www.institut-theater.at). 2017 erhält Hafner den Nestroy-Theaterpreis als bester männlicher Nachwuchs für seine Inszenierung von "Der Menschenfeind" am Wiener Volkstheater.

Clemens Wenger, geboren 1982, lebt und arbeitet in Wien als Musiker und Komponist für zeitgenössische Jazz-, Pop- & Elektronische Musik.  Er hat die JazzWerkstatt Wien initiiert, leitet seit 18 Jahren dieses Musikkollektiv und ist Kopf der erfolgreichen Wiener Soul Band 5/8erl in Ehr’n. Zuletzt hat Wenger "Physics of Beauty", eine Sammlung von 32 Stücken, als interaktives digitales Kunstwerk veröffentlicht. Gemeinsam mit Mira Lu Kovacs veröffentlichte Wenger "The Urge of Night". Theatermusik komponierte Wenger für das Volkstheater Wien, Münchner Volkstheater, Landestheater Tirol, netzzeit, wenn es soweit ist, u.v.m. Sechsfache Auszeichnung mit dem Amadeus Austrian Music Awards.


Releases

Digital ab 0,00 €

SLOWDANCE

(Digital)
  • 01 Slowdance

Alle Videos